College SAT requirements
Princeton University

Does Princeton Require the SAT?

No, for the entry term covered by the current policy. Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry.

Source-backed guidance · Last checked September 2, 2026

Middle 50%
1490–1570 Princeton SAT composite
Median score
1530 Among enrolled score submitters
Data source
Official Latest published institutional data
Minimum SAT
None published The reported range is not a cutoff

No — Princeton does not require an SAT score for the entry term described below

Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry. The official policy linked on this page is the source of truth for applicant type, entry term, deadlines, and any exception.

Official score context

Princeton SAT score range

The latest official institutional score source linked below reports a 1490–1570 middle-50% SAT composite range, with a midpoint of 1530, among enrolled score submitters.

Princeton middle 50%

Enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT scores
149025th percentile 1530Median 157075th percentile
Cohort dates and reporting definitions can differ by institution; open the official source for its precise reporting year. The range describes enrolled students who submitted scores; it is not a minimum or admission guarantee.
Personal score check

Should you submit your SAT score?

Because testing is optional, use the published 1490–1570 range as context for whether your score adds useful evidence to your application.

Enter your SAT score

Use a valid total score from 400 to 1600 in 10-point increments.

SAT total scores are reported in 10-point increments.

Within the range

1530 is the published midpoint

This score sits near the middle of Princeton’s published SAT range for enrolled score submitters. It is context, not an admissions prediction.

Open the 1530 SAT score guide
Application details

What Princeton’s SAT policy means in practice

No published SAT cutoff

Princeton does not publish the 1490–1570 middle-50% range as a minimum or guarantee. It describes enrolled students who submitted scores, not an automatic admission threshold.

Confirm multi-date scoring

The cited policy does not state a simple universal SAT superscore rule. Confirm the current multi-date scoring instructions before deciding which sittings to send.

Check self-report and verification rules

Princeton’s SAT code is 2672. Use the official policy for whether scores may be self-reported at application time and when an official testing-agency report is required.

Entry-term policy matters

Before the testing requirement returns for Fall 2028. Testing rules can change by cycle, so confirm the entry term shown on the official page before submitting.

Quick answers

Princeton SAT requirements FAQ

Does Princeton require the SAT?
Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry. Always match the policy to your applicant type and intended entry term.
What SAT score do you need for Princeton?
Princeton does not publish one score that guarantees admission. Its published middle-50% SAT range is 1490–1570 among enrolled students who submitted scores.
What is the average SAT score at Princeton?
The official score context used here has a midpoint of 1530. This page calls it a midpoint or median-style benchmark rather than claiming that every institutional source reports a mathematical average.
Does Princeton superscore the SAT?
The cited policy does not state a simple universal SAT superscore rule. Confirm the current multi-date scoring instructions before deciding which sittings to send.
Can I self-report SAT scores to Princeton?
Use Princeton’s current testing page for the application-stage reporting rule and official-score verification deadline. The SAT reporting code listed by the institution is 2672.
Should I submit a 1530 SAT score to Princeton?
A 1530 is near the midpoint of the published 1490–1570 range. Since testing is optional, submit it when it strengthens the academic evidence in your application.
Verification

Official Princeton sources

Admissions policies can change. These links are the source of truth and were checked on September 2, 2026.

University names and marks are used only to identify the institutions discussed. Test1600 is independent and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Princeton University.

Test1600 uses cookies in order to offer the best experience of our website. Please review our Cookie policy for more information.